relishing the home moments

I have enjoyed a very domestic time.

Our black Russian tomato , one single plant in fact, gave us a bumper crop of tomatoes and so I made tomato relish.

From this …to this…

2 kilograms of tomatoes made 7 jars of relish. And it is so delicious. The recipe said to peel the tomatoes, but I found with the black Russian tomato being a heritage variety that its skin is very soft. It hasn’t been bred for transportation like tomatoes for the supermarket. So, I just cut the tomatoes up, skin and all, and when I was bottling the relish I didn’t see any skin residue at all. No one should have a long thin tomato skin caught in their throat.

Then I did a couple of hours gardening. I have gone to the nursery earlier and bought  trays of cuphea  in purple and white. I wanted some punch for a shady area.

I did a lot of pruning too. Things look a little bare right now, but by Christmas (which is only two months away now),  it should all be looking very happy and inviting.  As will I!

Tomato Relish

 1 kg ripe tomatoes

1/2kg onions

2 cups sugar

2 cups white vinegar

1 tbsp curry powder

1 tblsp cornflour

1 tblsp mustard powder

1 dessertspoon turmeric

1 teaspoon salt

  1. Slice onions into thin slices.
  2. Place onions in a large saucepan and pour vinegar over .
  3. Bring to the boil and boil until soft
  4. Add chopped and peeled  tomatoes.
  5. Bring back to the boil and boil until tender.
  6. Mix dry ingredients together with enough water to make a thick paste.
  7. Add sugar, stirring until dissolved,
  8. Thicken with paste mix.

Allow to cool slightly before bottling. Keep in refrigerator, if possible, otherwise a cool place.

14 thoughts on “relishing the home moments

  1. Thanks for the recipe 🙂 Just wanted to say though, I LOVE the pictures, so iconic on the rh side of your page, & your banner. My gosh, gorgeous pictures.

    Like

  2. So odd to think about you planting flowers. We just put the garden to rest…well, the weather did. I still had some second crop peas that were blooming, but last night it was 27 degrees. Alas. by

    Like

  3. Very impressive!! It sounds delicious and I am sure it is far better than anything the grocery sells. Gardening too? Wow, you are full of energy these days. Good for you!

    Like

Leave a comment