No more celebrities are allowed to die…

bounds

…because I can’t stand the international sob fest!

Since Prince passed, we have drowning in media sob stories. Yes it is sad, a man died far too early, but this happens to thousands of people every day. Let us get some perspective. He was a musician that some people listened too. There was a time when he was the butt of much humour because he changed his name to a symbol.

What makes us glorify celebrity death, and to act as though our life will cease to be because they are no longer breathing? Then there is the rehashing of other celebrity deaths and on it goes.

In most cases, they saved no lives, often wasted their own, and made a lot of money along the way. Often then did not value that money and its power, but used it to indulge and take from our earth.

So no more celebrity deaths. Not that they are to be granted eternal life, but may they all live to be very very old, like movie stars from the golden era, so that they are no more than a blip on the evening news. No more fans rending their denim jackets on the footpath outside their homes with wasted flowers. Give the attention to your families, to your community, to people who make a difference to others not just to themselves – to someone you actually know.

 

6 thoughts on “No more celebrities are allowed to die…

  1. I get what you are saying. But I do think the sob fest is often because artists (not celebrities) tap into people’s emotions and some of us feel a connection with some of them. Having said that, walking into my boss’ office and finding her secratary in tears because Prince had died was rather unsettling. I had business to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been sort of analyzing the coverage – lots of demonstrations of grief, but no heartfelt essays of how Prince – persona or music – changed people’s lives: which was evident at David Bowie’s passing, and very moving it was, too.

    (and I also remember the mockery regarding changing the name to a symbol)

    If people have enough strength to spread their grief past friends and families, that’s fine. But prioritize, please.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I lived in Minneapolis when Prince was just starting out as a pop musician, so his death has brought back many memories for me, some not very happy. I remember when a real estate agent tried to pressure me into buying a condo in the same suburb Prince’s home was located in, and how we drove by Paisley Park on our way to look at the condo. (It, the condo I mean, was cookie cutter plywood crap. I was astonished that the developer was asking for such a high price, and I could only ascribe it to having Prince for a neighbor.)

    His music was also the soundtrack to a good portion of my life in the 80s and early 90s. Still, I’m not going to wrap myself in purple and play “When Doves Cry” in a continuous loop. His life was short but brilliant and well lived.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If it is of any consolation to you, I had only vaguely heard of this Prince chap until blogdom was full of his death. I was tempted to go and wiki him, but restrained because he didn’t make a mark on MY life when he lived…no reason for him to do so now.
    The only celebrity for whose death I cried was our ex president, Dr. Abdul Kalam. He, beyond a celebrity, was a wonderful human being and has inspired countless people (me included) to pursue their dreams. He had specifically wanted his death to not be made a big deal of (“no holidays please, if you respect me, work extra on the day I die”), but would we listen? The day he died was declared a national holiday. I made sure I worked extra that day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment